Get Excited for School

I like school… a lot. Of course I love to learn (who doesn’t?), but I also enjoy the atmosphere of educational institutions in general. I like being around people who are all taking part in the process of gaining a better understanding of the world around them. This is a big part of the reason that I applied for Heston, and it’s why I’ve been counting down the days until I could come back to Gettysburg for the summer. If we’re being honest, I actually drove back a week early, because I just couldn’t wait anymore.

This summer I’ll be working at the LIU’s Summer School of Excellence. Intermediate Units are public institutions that provide various educational services, including assistance to children of migrant parents. Their summer school is a completely optional program where children who want to learn can spend part of their summer studying not only traditional subjects, but also the arts. They don’t begin for another week, but so far I’ve spent my time meeting a lot of the people with whom I’m going to be working and helping to prepare for school. I was way too excited to unpack boxes of pencils and crayons and rulers (I shop for school supplies like other people shop for clothing) the other day, and I spent part of today at an in-service where we learned to conduct creative writing lessons with students who may or may not speak English. I kind of felt like a teacher, and it was awesome.

Something else that I’m absolutely thrilled about is the fact that for the next two months, I’m going to be living at school and not taking any classes. I’m also staying in an apartment with fellow students whose passions are similar to my own. Essentially, my childhood dream is being realised. It’s only been one week and we’ve had so many great discussions and have just about completed our first puzzle. We’ve also made the effort to start participating with one another’s organisations.

At the end of week one, I’m happy to say that my Heston experience has lived up to all of my wild expectations. I love school, and I’m psyched to spend the rest of the summer here as both a teacher and a student.

~ Katie

