Hiking, Chickens and Paperwork

06/07/2013
This past week has been a lot of office work since the quarter has just ended and reports must be submitted. Also, I have spent a great deal of time developing my grant. The last two weeks at the community meetings, I was getting profiles from the different groups and information on their activities. I discovered that Kamakowa (the community I have worked with the most) was the only community out of the four Obunga groups to identify food insecurity as their number one concern. Based on the collected information, I wrote a grant to begin a communal garden of indigenous plants to address food insecurity in the area; the idea reflected what is occurring in Gettysburg with various Casa de Cultura members involved in the Painted Turtle Farm. Quick shout out to Casa and the Hestons in Gettysburg! Then Thursday, after meeting again with Kamakowa the proposal was modified. Urban Livelihood works with the idea of PICD, Participatory Integrated Community Development, which means that the community has equal input in projects and changes. The challenge with a garden is the lack of space in Kamakowa since Obunga is located in Kisumu which is a city. Together, we changed the proposal to be poultry keeping in small groups at homes. After a breeding season, one chicken would be given back to the group so other members would get poultry. This will continue to occur until every member has poultry to keep, which not only helps increase food access but also is an income generating activity for the community. I am really happy with the project, and the positive reaction from the Kamakowa community. Kamakowa is the road behind where I am staying in Obunga; I like the idea of working so closely with the people I am living with.

Also, this weekend was fun and relaxing! We, the Heston interns, escaped the city for the day and visited Kit Mikayi.

Victoria Pérez-Zetune ’16
Kisumu, Kenya

