All is well that ends well!

The past few days have been great! I watched with pride (and almost got a bit tears-eyed) as Monica, the executive director of KMET, presented three very deserving and hardworking self-sponsored students in Sisterhood for Change with startup kits as part of my project. Sister-for-Sister was officially launched! Monica gave a great speech…like she always does. Seriously, the woman is just so inspiring! I feel so honored and humbled to hear her speak, so having her there was a pretty big deal! Her words were very encouraging, not just for the girls who recieved the startup kits but for all present.
It’s hard to believe that my time in Kisumu is nearing the end. This adventure will definitely be an unforgettable one for so many reasons. Preparing to go back is very bittersweet. On one hand I’m super ecstatic to be going back home and spending time with my family and friends. However, a part of me feels very sad leaving behind all the new and amazing people I’ve had the pleasure of meeting during my time here. Sunday with my host family made it even harder for me. My host mom took the entire family down to Lake Victoria for a day trip. We got to tour the port of Kisumu, take a tour of one of the fishing boats, and went to see the abandoned railroad station. My host mom told us that used to be the best hang out spot when she was a teen. It was a great Sunday!
Yesterday, Liz and I went to visit madam Jenepha (the youth coordinator) and her family at home yesterday. I have so much respect and admiration for her and getting the opportunity to see her at home with her family outside of work was just great.

Well, today is my last day at KMET. It’s been a very worthwhile experience and I will miss the staff.

Oriti!

